Press Advisory: 2022 ILF Leadership & Business Conference & Gala

Thursday, July 28, 2022
Contact: Linh Hoang / 202.641.5249

Washington, D.C. – The International Leadership Foundation (ILF), along with the Coalition of Asian American Business Organizations (CAABO), will host the 2022 ILF Leadership and Business Conference. The conference will be held on Thursday, July 28, 2022.

Featured speakers include Secretary Elaine L. Chao, Ambassador Christopher Lu, Dr. Henry C. Lee, and Governor Larry Hogan. Approximately 350 guests will attend, including distinguished Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) business and community leaders, entrepreneurs, and ILF Civic Fellows. The Gala seeks to recognize leaders in the AAPI community who have contributed significantly to the advancement and representation of AAPIs. Honorees include:

Person of the Year Award:

  • Dr. James S. C. Chao, Foremost Group Honorary Chairman and Founder

Business Leadership Award:

  • Charles Liang, Supermicro CEO

Public Service Leadership Award:

  • The Honorable Christopher Lu, U.S. Ambassador to the UN
  • Erika L. Moritsugu, Deputy Assistant to the President & AA and NHPI Senior Liaison
  • The Honorable Lily Qi, Maryland State Delegate

Civic Leadership Award:

  • Dr. Ray Chen, Emeritus Professor of San Jose State University
  • Shelley Ding, Honorary President of Lung Kong World Federation
  • Robin Mui, CEO of Sing Tao Newspapers USA

The Leadership and Business Conference & Gala aims to create opportunities for AAPI small business owners. To that end, the global awards ceremony serves to recognize outstanding members in the AAPI community who have provided exceptional services to their communities. Awardees also serve as positive role models for next generation AAPI leaders. The conference includes a fireside chat between the Honorable Elaine L. Chao and ILF founder Chiling Tong, where Secretary Chao will share her inspiring and uplifting story.

ILF is a non-profit organization that promotes civic engagement, leadership, empowerment, and economic prosperity of the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community to enhance diversity in our country. The mission of ILF is to cultivate civic-minded future AAPI leaders. Founded in 2000, ILF has provided scholarships, leadership training, and educational programs to over 10,000 AAPI students.

The list of distinguished speakers including: U.S. Trade Ambassador Katherine Tai, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan, the Honorable Elaine L. Chao, Ambassador Christopher Lu, Erika Moritsugu, Dr. Henry C. Lee, U.S. Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA), U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), U.S. House of Representative Judy Chu (D-CA), U.S. House of Representative Kaiali’i Kahele (D-HI), U.S. House of Representative Andy Kim (D-NJ), U.S. House of Representative Young Kim (R-CA), U.S. House of Representative Grace Meng (D-NY), U.S. House of Representative Amata Radewagen (R-AS), U.S. House of Representative Michelle Steel (R-CA), Fremont Mayor Lily Mei.