Select Page


National Endorsements

Leadership Team

Executive Team

Meetings & Activities

Our Sponsors

Paul Hsu


Paul S. Hsu is an engineer, entrepreneur, business leader, and public servant who came to the United States as a first-generation immigrant in 1976. After serving as Sr. Engineer for Harris Corporation, a DoD aviation company, Paul founded Manufacturing Technology, Inc. (MTI) in 1984, serving the DoD in avionics and battlefield electronics. Three successful companies followed MTI: Total Parts Plus, Inc., an internet-based data content company providing electronic component obsolescence management and engineering services, ActiGraph, LLC, an electronic medical device manufacturer of a product that collects biometric data, and Crestview Technology Air Park, a development providing infrastructure for aerospace and technology driven solutions in Northwest Florida.

Throughout his career, Paul has demonstrated his commitment to public service. President Bush appointed him as a member of the President’s Export Council (PEC) and Associate Administrator of the Small Business Administration’s (SBA) Office of Government Contracting and Business Development. In 2019, President Trump announced Paul’s appointment to serve as Chairman of the President’s Advisory Commission on Asian American Pacific Islanders (AAPI). Paul’s philanthropic support of students and educational programs include the establishment of Dr. Paul & Maggie Hsu Endowed Engineering Scholarship and Hsu Educational Foundation Inc. supporting K-20 educational S.T.E.M and career tech programing, college scholarships and development of innovative business to student initiatives to prepare tomorrow’s workforce with high demand skills.

Chiling Tong

Founding President

Chiling Tong has extensive domestic and international experience in economic and business development, with a focus on enhancing the growth of small and minority business enterprises competing in the global market. She is the President of the Asian & Pacific Islander American Chamber of Commerce & Entrepreneurship (National ACE). Tong was the founding of the International Leadership Foundation (ILF). Over 20 years, Tong has built a strong nationwide network of 20 chapters consisting of entrepreneurs and community leaders to support ILF’s mission. Tong was also an Ash Center Research fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School. In 2017, Tong received “advocate of the year award” from the U.S. Department of Commerce and was recognized at the White House. Chiling Tong previously served as a Deputy Assistant Secretary in the Department of Commerce, and was also the Chief of Staff and Associate Director at the Minority Business Development Agency. Tong has been a member of the President’s Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. Tong was on the Board of Directors of the Congressional Awards Board for young leaders. Tong was awarded a Coro Public Affairs Fellowship and the Chairperson of the Los Angeles County Community Action Board.

Joel Szabat


Joel Szabat is the founder of the International Leadership Foundation (ILF). Joel founded ILF in California and led it to Washington, D.C. in 2001. The son of an immigrant, Joel believes that APAs and other immigrants are key to America’s future. In developing leadership potential and civic appreciation in the next generation of Asian Pacific Americans we are helping all Americans.

Joel has served in several high-level federal government positions for four Presidents, including as the Acting Under Secretary of Transportation – the Department’s third-highest position — for Secretary Elaine L. Chao. He led the Department’s Coronavirus response efforts. In the Obama administration, Joel initially oversaw the $48 billion provided to build 15,000 transportation projects as part of the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act. Joel directed efforts to rebuild ports, airports and railroads in Iraq under President George W. Bush. Joel has also been Chief of Staff of the Small Business Administration, and the Executive Director of the Maritime Administration.

​Joel graduated from Georgetown University and earned an MBA from Harvard Business School. Joel served as a Captain in the United States Army during the Cold War, commanding tank units patrolling the East-West German border. After receiving his MBA, Joel was a management consultant in the private sector specializing in transportation issues. Joel is married to Chinese-American activist Chiling Tong, the National ACE President & Chief Executive Officer and ILF Founding President.

Board of Directors & National Honorary Advisors

Elaine L. Chao

Honorary Chairman

Paul Hsu, Ph.D.


Solomon Chen


Chiling Tong

Founding President

Joel Szabat


Derek Chen

Honorary Chair of Global Advisory Board

Howard Li

Honorary Chair of NY Advisory Board

C.C. Yin

Honorary National Advisor

Sean Reyes

Honorary National Advisor

Kimberly Yee

Honorary National Advisor

Susan Lee

Honorary National Advisor

Henry Lee, Ph.D.

Honorary National Advisor

Michelle Steel

Honorary National Advisor

Joe Jefferson

Honorary National Advisor

Anila Ali

Honorary National Advisor

Young Kim

Honorary National Advisor

Farook Sait

Honorary National Advisor

National Advisory Board

Grace Huang

Chair, SF

Chun Ya Chen

Co-Chair, SF

Ivy Sun

Hon. Chair, LA

Judy Tsai

Co-Chair, LA

Jesse Hong

Co-Chair, LA

Jeff Hwang

Chair, D.C.

David Ho

Co-Chair, D.C.

Louis Yip

Chair, New England

Sunny Ng

Co-Chair, New England

Shiao-Yen Wu

Chair, Seattle

Patty Yan

Chair, Orlando

Russell Wu

Hon. Chair, Chicago

Merry Cheng

Chair, Chicago

Eric Kung

Hon. Chair, Detroit

George Yau

Chair, Detroit

David Jian

Chair, Atlanta

Charles Ku

Hon. Chair, Dallas

Suzanne Chen

Chair, Dallas

Cherry Huang

Chair, New York

Ma Yong

Co-Chair, New York

James Birney

Hon. Chair, Houston

Steve Hsu

Hon. Chair, Houston

Shelley Ding

Chair, Houston

Shiou Y. Jefferson

Chair, Colorado

Hannah Chan

Chair, North Carolina

Edward Dong

Chair, U.S.-China Committee

En Zhang

Chair, Cultural Committee

Claire Wu

Chair Emeritus, Chicago

Dr. Eugenia Henry

Chair, Training Committee

Stephany Yu

Chair, Entrepr. & Innovation Committee

Lily Luo

Hon. Chair, Global Adv. Board

Carolyn Chou

Chair, Global Adv. Board

Lily Han

Chair, Information Committee

Matthew Lee

Chair, Small Business Committee

Pedro H. Cheng

Chair, Miami

Chrissie Chen

Director of Global Relations

Wea Hwa Lee

Chair, Houston

Rose Li

Education Advisor

Sou Wong Lee

Senior Advisor

William Wu

Chair of Supervisors, Global


National Endorsements

Leadership Team

Executive Team

Meetings & Activities

Our Sponsors